Birch View….

photo16.jpg

~ by jolli on May 26, 2007.

2 Responses to “Birch View….”

  1. Greg,
    My brother Bob and I enjoyed our Memorial Day weekend. We have some beautiful pictures from our long weekend. We tried to figure out how many years ago we first stumbled across the Jolli Lodge when we ventured North during a Memorial Day weekend. We had no reservations and lucky for us, you had a room left in the Lodge. We guess that it was about 8 years ago and we have been spending our Memorial Days at the Lodge ever since. We enjoy it so much that we also managed to squeeze in a long weekend each fall. I couldn’t have been happier because I could bring my black lab Zoe. This was the first year she has not made the trip with me. She is fourteen years old and suffering from arthritis. She has also developed a fear of riding in the car for long trips. It was hard being there without her last weekend but I will always have great memories of her romping on the beach, rolling in any decaying fish she could find, and her journeys into the Great Lake.
    My brother and I included our parents in our trips after the first year. We knew how much they would love the view and the solitude. We were right. My mom passed away in 2005 and we took my dad up one more time before he became too frail. Today I sat with him and showed him the pictures I took while I was up last weekend and he relayed many good memories of our times together at the Jolli Lodge.
    Our trips to the Jolli Lodge are some of my fondest memories with my parents. Thank you for being a part of our family story. Bob and I sat in front of the expansive window in Southshore watching the waves and the setting sun. We speculated that we would still be journeying to the Lodge twenty years from now. What a place of joy and peace.
    Thank you.
    Beth Brophy

  2. Beth….Thanks for the note. After threatening to leave a few times over the years, I’m glad I decided to stay. I can’t think of a better place to raise a family.

Leave a Reply

 
